After installing Adobe Shockwave Player from here I am presented with this offer.
I don’t want to use Norton, so I unselect the checkbox.
I actually read the text, well, most of it – the part which is visible, as you can see below.
By clicking on the only button visible, I agree with the Norton License and I receive the software from Symantec.
So, where the hack is the Cancel button?
I unselected the checkbox and pressed Alt-F4 and apparently I didn’t get any Symantec software on my computer.
I thought that such practices can by found only at Ask.com and alike…
But, definitely there is money in stake here, so who cares about user experience?
I am sure that Symantec didn’t see this 😉
Erm.. I am hoping that they didn’t see it.
© Copyright 2014 Sorin Mustaca, All rights Reserved. Written For: Sorin Mustaca on Cybersecurity
Check www.mustaca.com for the IT Consulting services I offer.
Visit www.itsecuritynews.info for latest security news in English
Besuchen Sie http://de.itsecuritynews.info für IT Sicherheits News auf Deutsch