google plus

No Image

Google Plus and usability (part 2): no way to hide people

This is the second post in the series  Google Plus and usability. Here is the first post: Part 1 In Facebook, there is a way to hide the post from certain people to reach your News Feed, without stopping being friend with them. How can you hide the posts from someone in G+? You can exclude them from a circle and to block them. But they can find out that you removed them from a circle. So, not the same effect. G+ has still to improve here.


No Image

Picasa gets unlimited online storage because of Google Plus

Bug or feature ? Feature, of course, since it is coming from Google. Since G+, Picasa is receiving  unlimited online storage.   When I created my G+ account, I was asked if i want to merge my Picasa Web Account with G+. I said yes, and since then, the counter of the pictures doesn’t work anymore. I have 94 albums with a lot of pictures and movies and it says  that I have used 0% of my account.     If you’re signed up for Google+, photos up to 2048×2048 pixels and videos up to 15 minutes long won’t count towards this free storage limit. And Google will automatically resize photos for you when you upload them to Google+, so they stay under the free size limit. That means only photos uploaded directly to Picasa Web Albums over the 2048×2048 size will count towards the 1 GB of free storage, explains Google. And when that limit is reached, photos will be automatically resized. Meanwhile, for non-Google+ users, there are slightly stricter rules: photos up to 800×800 and videos up to 15 minutes won’t count towards free storage. Again, when the 1 GB limit is reached, larger photos will be resized down. Simply put, this…


No Image

Google Plus and usability (part 1): can’t write a message to a single person

So, I finally got an invitation to use the Google Plus. I will not comment about this service because a lot has been written, but I will comment on its usability. Here are the most nerving issues which the Product Managers from Google seem to have not understood: I want to write to a friend a direct message without having to create a circle with only 1 user. I click on the name and I expect to be able to interact with the user.                 And surprise… there is no way to do this … To compare it with Facebook, if you click on a username, you can write on the Wall of the respective person. Will write more here 🙂


%d bloggers like this:

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies and to its Privacy Policy more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close